University of Applied Sciences vs Research University


The higher education system in the Netherlands is based on a three-cycle degree system, consisting of a bachelor's, master's and PhD degree. The three-cycle system was officially introduced in the Netherlands at the beginning of the academic year 2002-2003. The Netherlands has a binary system of higher education, which means there are two types of programmes: research-oriented education [wetenschappelijk onderwijs, WO], traditionally offered by Research Universities, and applied sciences [hoger beroepsonderwijs, HBO], traditionally offered by Hogescholen, or Universities of Applied Sciences.


This short animation explains the difference between the two types of universities in the Netherlands and discusses the characteristics of universities of applied sciences in more detail.